Thoughts about Ray Boltz’s music

Many of you have heard that Ray Boltz has announced that he is gay.  If you had not heard this and you have a hard time believing it, then you can google it.  I have decided not to post any links to those articles.  If you don’t know who Ray Boltz is then you have missed out on one the best Contemporary Christians singers in history.  I am saddened by this announcement.  However, I have some thoughts about this development that I would like to share. 

I know that many Christians will want to throw away his music because he announced that he is “living a normal gay lifestyle.”  But I wonder if this is really necessary?  If Ray’s music ministers to you, then why throw it away?  He is singing about our Heavenly Father. 

I know some Christians, who sing in front of their church, sing a lot of his music.  Some will struggle about what to do with his songs now.  I say keep singing them.  Several of those songs pierce my heart when I hear them. 

Some Christians will wonder if those songs were ever inspired by the Holy Spirit.  How can you listen to “Thank you,” or “The Gift” and think that God did not have anything to do with those songs?  How many of us were inspired, at our lowest, by the song, “The Anchor Holds?” 

Christians, I don’t condemn Ray.  I am sad for Ray.  I want to remind you all that we are to love God and love others.  Yes, I believe homosexuality is a sin.  Just like adultery, idolatry, and etc. is.  Christians, we are not develop hatred for Ray.  I think that God will do with Ray what only God can do. 

The bottom-line is that I am not going to throw away my Ray Boltz Cd’s; they were $16 a piece!  Just kidding about the money part.  I will not defend Ray’s new music, but I will defend his old music.  His old music has helped me to focus upon Jesus Christ while worshipping Him.  Jesus was glorified in those songs.  The theology was sound. 

What are your thoughts?

7 Comments

Filed under Ray Boltz, Worship

7 responses to “Thoughts about Ray Boltz’s music

  1. The hymnal (! — I know, that’s an outmoded concept!) that our church uses for some of its services has hundreds of composers and authors in its indexes. There is no “this person was not a homosexual” line beside any of them. Some of them may have been such. Some of them may have been adulterers. King David was (and he was also a murderer). God can, and does, use the creations of sinners to edify His church.

  2. renaissanceguy

    The music speaks for itself. During those years, he certainly was trying to live for God, which is all that any of us can do. It’s sad that he has chosen this current path, but who knows what will happen in the future?

  3. I understand, and even agree with what you’ve stated here, his music inspired me as well. My question would be not if, but when. Would it distract from the message of the song, for (some in) the congregation to be dwelling on, “Isn’t this the song that gay man did?”. For some it would and for some it wouldn’t. I myself would err on the side of caution with this and not give the devil an opportunity for scandal with this.

    God’s blessings to you and your congregation, Pastor.
    Tim

  4. Stacey

    I too was shocked by the news of Ray’s “coming out.” It saddened me. We have to remember that he is only human. We are all sinners and fall short of the glory of God. The difference is that Ray Boltz was a christian icon. We expect him to be better than ourselves. We shouldn’t coddle sin, but we should still love our brother. We each have our battles, some just not as public as others. My heart breaks for him and for other believers. We seem to think that he should be immune to sin. If he wasn’t immune, then how can we as “everyday” people hold up? Sin is sin and homosexuality is no different than any other sin. It’s simply a lot more public and pronounced. So we should not act foolishly with the news, but cry out to God that much more. His music did inspire and still can. The music is of God and God doesn’t change. The man is who fell. We as christians should be there to pick him up, not kick him while he’s down. Those are just my thoughts.

  5. waderog

    Your article is spot on. I always liked Ray’s music and have actually performed some of his songs in church. Although I do admit I think I would have second thoughts about doing one of his songs again though. It could be a stumbling block for some.

  6. I believe at this point I feel much like Wade on this one. I truly love some of his songs and like Wade, I have performed them as well. Yes the music is wonderful…but will people be focused on the music or the “Homosexual” that wrote it.

    I am even more disturbed by the fact that he has become accepting to this behavior and “Embracing” his choice of lifestyle. I guess the quickest way to turn off the conviction of the Spirit is to tell yourself that the Spirit doesn’t mind what you are doing.

    Our hearts and prayers should certainly remember his family during this time. I can imagine they feel like they have been “nuked”.

  7. shawnbarr

    What a sad situation with Boltz. I do hope the Christian world will pray for him and also exhort him. Remember that we are called to exhort one another when we see a brother in sin. Here’s a fictional conversation between Ray Boltz and Jesus…

    http://shawnbarr.wordpress.com/2008/09/26/ray-boltz-talks-to-jesus/

Leave a Reply

